RTGoNU Agrees over the allocation of states

Parties to Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity (RTGoNU) have agreed on the allocation of states after weeks of negotiation.

The Incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity will take 5 states, SPLM-IO 3 states, SSOA 1 state, and OPP 1 state.

Here is the list of states and the parties that will nominate the governor of each state.

SPLM under Salva Kiir

  1. Warrap
  2. Western Equatoria
  3. Western Bahr El-Ghazal
  4. Central Equatoria
  5. Unity State

SPLM-IO under Dr. Riek

  1. Lakes State
  2. Upper Nile (Malakal)
  3. Eastern Equatoria


  1. Northern Bahr El-Ghazal


  1. Jonglei

There will be 10 states ministers as follows:

  1. Cabinet Affairs
  2. Legal Affairs
  3. Local Government
  4. Information, Culture, Youth & Sports
  5. Finance & Planning
  6. Physical Infrastructure
  7. Agriculture and Animal Wealth
  8. Health
  9. Education
  10. Gender & Social Welfare